Teachers!


Ever wondered the life of a teacher?

She/He despite of the fact that the students are not his/her own children, treats them like one. Gives in the best of everything so as to bring up the student in a very systematic way. Does things out of the reach so that the students future is good and this is done without EXPECTING ANYTHING IN RETURN.

It’s always said, the second parent of a child is a teacher! Sometimes a kid, doesn’t listen to what his parents tell. But the same thing comes out of the teachers mouth it’s of high priority to the student :). As the student moves to upper grades, new teachers come in and the old ones are memories. But one thing, the teacher no matter how old she/he is, no matter when she/he taught you, she/he will definitely remember your face if not your name whenever you meet them.

The same thing happened to me today and also two weeks back!

First it was an engineering lecturer who had taught me for nearly 3 whole years. Of course, it’s just 3 n half years since I passed out of engineering, but she did remember me :). For a student, it’s always a pleasure when their old lecturers still remember them and it was the same for me. For lecturers, students coming and speaking to them is a proud moment. The happiness you get to see on their face after knowing that their students are doing good is just amazing.Ā  šŸ™‚

Second one I met was my PUC hindi teacher today morning šŸ™‚ and it so happened that she got a seat next to me in the bus! A good coincidence I must say. To my surprise she did call me by my name and she recalled all the pranks which I once did during PU days :P. The statement which she told was – ” We teachers remember students, if they are either very brilliant at studies or if they are notorious. You come into the latter part šŸ˜› “. I was like, all smiles. She remembered each and everything and it was really an amazing thing.

Usually, we tend to meet our old school teachers, but its we students who always refrain from speaking to them! I don’t know why? EGO reason? Must be. We should not expect them to come and speak to us. Its GURU’s blessings which matter the most for any person. No matter how much we shout at the lecturer, how much we irritate them, its their generosity that they forget everything and bless us always. No matter which position you are now, no matter how much you earn, you are still the same old to them. They never judge you by what you are now. šŸ™‚

So next time you meet your old lecturer, say a HI! Believe me, you will feel great šŸ™‚

Cheers
Muki

7 thoughts on “Teachers!

  1. I like ur post and the idea you have put forward. Yes I am a teacher. While I agree with you let me share with you my view that among Indian teachers in India a lot of them are not playing in the role of good teachers. A teacher’s role is not to stuff her learners with content but to make them good person.

    1. There is always an exception in everything. But there are still teachers who give their everything. I know a few. Kudos to them.

      Thank you for your comment. Appreciate it šŸ™‚

  2. Agreed! No matter how much you hate them for the punishment they gave šŸ˜‰ they are all different when you meet them after the shool/college. They do remember your face and speak so nicely that sometimes I even wondered if they were the same teachers’! And when they come to know what we are doing for living, they feel so proud just like our parents…

    Nice post.. Hats-off to all those teachers who have helped us to reach where we are now…

  3. And some times you also fall in love with that beautiful young teacher that makes you wonder why weren’t you older enough.. šŸ™‚

  4. Have you ever thought of the feeling a teacher gets meeting or teaching a old student again? I think the feeling of closure they go through is way higher than what we feel about or for them. They are proud of having taught us. I think that is their treasure. Same goes with parents, children are like trophies to Indian parents, they know they worked hard on us and when we get settled its their day to feel blessed. We need to give ourselves credit too don’t you feel so? šŸ˜‰ The only sane thing for us to do would be as you said to greet them. It reminds them of us and their own experience to see us grow.

Leave a comment