That Late Night Ride!


Always during those childhood days, specially for those who were born until the 80’s, one of the favorite evening entertainment would be the long bicycle rides all around the town πŸ™‚ Miss those days and just wanted to revive it somehow!

Ever since I moved to SG, one of the major things that I could see all over was, hell lot of bicycles πŸ™‚ It was indeed a very good change to see these unlike that in Bangalore where the majority of the roads are clogged with vehicles. The excitement to buy one was very much there but due to various reasons it never happened and always would have to rent one of them and ride along the lovely beaches of SG.

Finally last week, the muhurta was right I can say and I did manage to buy one of it which had Gears too! πŸ™‚ Yes, a proud owner of a bicycle πŸ˜‰ Gear cycles were never there back then during my childhood days and it only came into market quite late with ‘Swing’ being the first one which I still remember

Flashback to childhood days, I had a small mini cycle first which was utilised to the max possible extent and due to the very thin tyres that it had, it would fly off in a jiffy. Speed was a thrill back then and I think there is nobody left in my neighborhood that have not complained to my mother about those speedy rides I had. :).

After hearing quite a lot of those, my father had a very smart idea and gifted me one of the bigger bicycles πŸ™‚ My excitement had no bounds. The size of the new bicycle was atleast 5 times the one I had before which goes on to tell how much excited I was πŸ™‚ The brand was Hercules MTB! Amongst my friends circle, mine was that amazing one which stood out and it added on to my excitement. My height did not permit me to sit on the seat and ride it but just had to manage by some way of riding called ‘Monkey Peddling’ whereby, I would have to put my legs between the horizontal rods in order to ride the bicycle. Even though it looked odd, I did not care and I was only happy about having a new bicycle. The smart thing that I spoke about my father was that, this bicycle had huge tyres and very thick ones which meant that, no matter how hard you peddle, for my strength it just wouldn’t run faster πŸ˜‰ Even though he had to shell out 1,800 Rs for the cycle, yes it did cost so less back then, overall he won the battle and I was confined to slow rides thereafter.

The excitement of getting a new bicycle back then from Anthony Cycle Works (the only shop back then in Udupi) was tremendous and I still remember the day they delivered it to my doorstep. It was the same excitement now or may be even more while waiting for my new bicycle here at SG πŸ™‚

image

Post the delivery, unfortunately there were heavy rains and I had to wait well past midnight to try it out on the roads of SG! Yes, 1am to 2:30 am on the lonely streets with a broad smile and the amazing breeze hitting my face as I rode through, it was absolutely an amazing feeling to relive after almost 20 years or even more.

image

image

I do not know how much I am going to use it going ahead but the happiness of buying and more than buying, riding one is immense πŸ™‚

Cheers,
Muki

Leave a Reply

