Cricket – Integral Part of Every Indians Life! :)


Who does not love cricket being born in India? 🙂

A chance to play cricket through out during childhood every single evening was one of thing that I will cherish through out my life. Grab your cycle, visit each of your friend’s place and give a shout, gather maximum people and then enjoy the lovely game. I always heard my father telling me, if you don’t call your friends going to their house each day, won’t they come to play? 🙂 That was part of the fun. Get to bat, bowl and keep and your day is at its best.

I still recollect those days when we cousins used to stay over at my grandparents place. So much cricket that, wake up, have breakfast and play cricket. Come down for lunch, wrap it up in a jiffy and again play cricket. Evening go out to the beach or outside on the ground and again play cricket 🙂 No, I really am not exaggerating these above things. This is what we used to do for the whole of summer holidays and trust me we loved every bit of it. Of course, we did not have mobile phones or Playstations to play with like how kids of this new generation have, so we found solace in out-door games and cricket was on top of our list.

It so happened and I am lucky that cricket has been integral part of my life till date. Engineering days playing for your class team, during masters playing for University, at Tata Elxsi playing for the company team every week in week out with the best of the corporate teams of Bangalore. I must thank Chetan Jayatheerta for giving me that excellent chance to be in the team and enjoy every bit of it and on course learn a lot as well. After moving to Singapore, I did have a break from cricket for obvious reasons (read as work :P) but nonetheless, I did play for my boss’s team on a turf wicket and quite a number of those Cage Cricket games where in you hit the walls and you score runs. It is not as much fun as the open ground cricket but definitely if your technique is good then you succeed in scoring 🙂 Twice a month we colleagues play over at the ground around Changi Business Park in Singapore and through some recently made friends at client places, I also did get a chance to play in a couple of tournaments as well 🙂

The fun tournament was last week at ECP – GSB Samaj Cricket tournament played between 6 teams and each consisting of 7 players out of which 2 were either kids or women. 6 overs a side inside the cage and the fun was unlimited. Being part of GSB community even after coming over to Singapore is one of the best things that could have happened and definitely knowing new people each visit is always worth it. Even though my team lost both the games, the spirit with which each team played was commendable. Looking forward to many more of such tournaments.

All set for the Start of the tournament!

 

Did manage to play a good game 🙂
My team with the Trophy (Just posing :P)
The total team with full of energy

I really wished our game were uploaded live on the UC Cricket plugin which has some amazing features which one must definitely try out. Had it been done, my mother would have loved to watch me play each and every game of mine with absolute happiness 🙂 http://www.ucweb.com/ visit the link to know more on the same.

This blogspot is part of the Indiblogger Surf it all post.

Cheers,
Muki

Leave a Reply

