A year as a STUDENT at MANIPAL – Part I :)

June 14, 2012 § 3 Comments


Well, here I am writing this post after a long long break and with some amazing memories I had during a fantastic year which I spent in MANIPAL as a student and not as a localite :)

Manipal University

I would just want to recall those amazing moments which I had being a student of a great University which I always craved to join.

Finally, there it was, August 1st,2011 where it all began. I still remember getting decked up in formal along with my super cool friends Vaman Gaitonde aka “Anna” and Mr. Preetham Hegde aka the “GT MAN” – ( i know yu’ll kill me for this :P). Me and Hegde had taken up the Dual Degree course in Masters – Embedded System and Instrumentation and Anna had enrolled into Embedded Systems. Hegde never gets ready on time and we arrive late for the Orientation Program arranged for us at the 4th floor of the huge Central Library building. Must say, the infrastructure which Manipal University has is one among the top in India. The Director of Manipal Centre for Information Science along with a few other professors gave us a small talk on the DO’s and DONT’s during our 1 year stay at Manipal. I still remember those innocent looking faces in crowd paying apt attention to each LETTER from the Director, and we three surely knew the next 12 months will be a hell of time at MANIPAL :) :) We were all game for it :)

The schedule for the week was put up and guess what, our favorite subject of all time C – Programming would be taught for the whole week :P Amazing. With great difficulty I had managed to crack the C Programming lab during engineering and to my horror, on that particular day I realized, MS will be completely filled with C – Programming – yeah, JHATKA number one! The usual classes followed for the week with few lectures on the Basic of C Programming and then came the next news as to we would be having 3 tests on C Programming and the marks would be counted as well – yeah, this was JHATKA number two! ( But the tests never happened :P :P )

Manipal Centre for Information Science

I must say, we engineers NEVER STUDY UNTIL THERE IS FIRE IN OUR ARSE! That it what happened, me and hegde made it a point we’ll study atleast the lil of C-Programming. First 10 days were the most serious and the last serious days of my student life at MCIS :P Yeah, we did hit the libraries every evening after college hours just to sit and study C Programming :) :) Amazing ain’t it? :P

Our course was divided into 2 semesters and each semester consisted of 5 subjects and 3 labs. I had no other choice but to opt for the Dual Degree course, since I had not written the Entrance test for the University, hence no seats were available for the normal Embedded Systems branch and also since Anna and Hegde were joining I made up my mind to join it this year as I would have some company, else my plan was to join for the August 2012-2014 batch. I had from the very first day decided I wouldn’t be going to France as part of my Dual Degree program and would enroll as a regular student of Embedded Systems after the first semester.

Classes were on only for the first one week of August :P Yes, our subject lecturers, one had met with accident, one had some family problem, hence 3 subjects classes were not at all being taken for the first 15-20 days :) It was just an hour or two of classes everyday and after that, the only thing I did was to search a house for rent for Anna and Hegde. There were some exclusive houses seen for these 2 maharati’s but none ended on a positive note. Nonetheless, they did find one themselves just 5 mins away from my place which was really a blessing in disguise for me, as I knew through out the semester I would be just coming to my place for food and sleep, rest all will be at their place :P

After 3 weeks of some awesome free time at college, entered the 3rd Maharathi – Mr. Kiran Vasanth aka Smokieee!! :) He joined college quite late and ended up being Hegde’s and Anna’s roommate :) I was the unofficial roommate :P Smokiee was also into the Dual Degree course, hence except for Anna, we all were in the same class.

System Software, Database Management Systems, Device Drivers, Data Structures and Algorithms, Embedded Systems, a mini project and a seminar were the things we had to cover during this 1st semester.

ELLA OK, DATA STRUCTURES YAAKE?? –  meaning Everything was ok, why data structures? I was really bad at C Programming and Data Structures was something which had nothing else but C Programming. I must say, I did struggle a lot during the first 2-3 weeks in the Data Structures class. Everything was bouncing over my head :) Our lecturer did a fantastic job on the other hand and he made it a point that no matter how many times I went to him with the silliest of the doubts, he cleared it with utmost patience. This is the best part of MCIS – Absolutely FANTASTIC faculties who are ready to help you anytime if at all you need them.

Few noteworthy events of the first semester:

i) PES Football 2011 – Day or night, exam or no exam, Smokie’s laptop was the thing which was loaded with the PES Football game and we 4 were on it almost all the time :) I still remember the day before our System Software exam, we played for the whole morning with next day the exam approaching :P. Anna finally did beat me :P, Hegde’s and Anna’s match was the one which was always worth watching :) Guys, I really miss those days :(

ii) Bike Trip to Sigandhur - Situated 140kms from Manipal, a temple on an island was the destination and there were 6 bikes with 12 super thrilled riders wanting to hit the roads :) Will never forget the 280kms up and down ride which was just splendid. Into the hills, the thick dense forests of Kollur and also those roadless, streetlightless, NAXAL affected area which we rode through :) One Hell of a Day it was :)

The Bikers

iii) Manipal University Cricket Tournament – Getting into the MCIS team for the leather ball tournament was one of the thing which I would cherish always. Hegde leading the pace attack for MCIS, we did win 2 games eventually losing. Nonetheless some amazing moments :)

Staff vs Students Cricket Match

iv) Late night visit to Malpe Beach – The fantastic 4 were at it again, this time, Malpe beach was the destination and at 12 in the night, it was really a splendid time :)

Smokie, Hegde and Anna – Malpe Beach

v) Rainbow Day – All branches were supposed to wear a Tee which depicted their branch. We too “attempted” something. The outcome was not the one which we expected :) Nonetheless, a great try :)

Rainbow Day

vi) Faculty vs Students Cricket match – You get to be in the team which faces the FACULTY, and you do get a chance to take a revenge :P :P LOL, just kidding :) Getting to open the innings for the student team and then stand behind the wickets, its just an amazing moment when your lecturers are in the team opposite to yours :)

vii) Labs – I must say, I can’t forget the day during which I had my first Data Structures Lab. As mentioned earlier, I was no good at C, over that some deadly question was sure to bounce on us :). What turned out to be some unexpected turn of events. Linked List program with some twists and turns. I wrote just the structure, nothing else. I was so disappointed with my effort, that I made it a point, no matter what, I need to get myself up the next time round. Second internals, topeed the class – 47/50 :). Won’t forget this forever. It might not be a big achievement for the rest, but for me personally it definitely was :)

viii) Books and Studies – After 3 years of break from studies, I was getting back to college days. Excitement and also at the same time, a sense of responsibility was there from within to achieve something which I had not during engineering days. Sitting at a place with a book in hand and studying was really going to be a tough task since all the patience which was there during engineering days had vanished into thin air. Nonetheless, with gods and parents blessings it did go in a smooth way :)

ix) TOPPER – There was always this dream, right since engineering to top the class, to be a friend to all, to excel in whatever I do. First internals, I still remember being the top scorer in 3 subjects out of 5 :). It was a major boost for me, as my efforts towards studies did pay off and it drove me more to achieve which I always dreamt off. There was tremendous competition of course which I did manage to clear at last. 3 internals, 1 project, 1 seminar and finally a round of semester papers and there I was standing tall above the rest in my class – 8.8/10 which is due to the blessing of my “MALSHI” and the support of my parents, bro and loved ones. Its because of them that I was able to achieve this. Made my parents really feel proud :)

I guess, the first semester had only this much to offer :) Rather, I can put it this way – somethings cant be disclosed here in public :P

To all those 18 ppl who were with me during the first semester did say ALVIDA and left to France for their Dual Degree Course.

Team ESIGELEC

I had a new challenge and a new class to get into.. (to be continued)

Jai Mahalasa!

Cheers
Muki

§ 3 Responses to A year as a STUDENT at MANIPAL – Part I :)

  • I was planning to join the Dual Degree course. Could you tell me the total fee that would be incurred. and if both the degrees are approved by UGC and AICTC

    • mukeshkini says:

      Hello,
      The course and the fee structure has changed since last January. I was into MS program which is now Msc Tech which I believe is approved by UGC, not sure about AICTE. Kindly give a call to manipal.edu office for the detailed course structure and for more information regarding the college feel free to call the director of MCIS, Dr. Harsihchandra Hebbar.

  • Manju says:

    I was also a student at MCIS Manipal share the same feeling miss Manipal a lot buddy

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A year as a STUDENT at MANIPAL – Part I :) at Moments Through The Journey.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 768 other followers

